History of Bihar - GovtVacancy.Net

History of Bihar - GovtVacancy.Net
Posted on 11-08-2022

Bihar History in English

Important facts related to the history of Bihar are available here. These facts are very important from the point of view of competitive examination. Here you can see the information about the history of Bihar.

  • The capital Pataliputra was founded by Udayana.
  • Palaeolithic sites have been discovered from Munger and Nalanda.
  • Mesolithic sites have been discovered from Hazaribagh, Ranchi, Singhbhum and Santhal Parganas (all in Jharkhand).
  • Neolithic artifacts have been discovered from chinrad and chechar.
  • The first discussion of the Bihar region is found in the Shatapatha Brahmana.
  • Mahavir's birthplace is in Kundagram (Bihar).
  • Anga Rajya is mentioned for the first time in Atharvaveda. At present it includes Khagaria, Bhagalpur and Munger.
  • The capital of the Anga kingdom was Champa (present-day Bhagalpur). 
  • Megasthenes in 315 AD. East I had arrived in Pataliputra itself.
  • Aryabhatta is also related to Pataliputra city.
  • The capital of the Lichhavi dynasty was located at Vaishali.
  • The Turk rule in Bihar was established by Bakhtiyar Khilji.
  • Lord Mahavir was born in Kundagram, Vaishali.
  • Lord Mahavir belonged to the Janatrika clan. His father was the head of this dynasty.
  • The Golghar in Bihar was built during the time of the Governor General, Lord Cornwallis.
  • For the first time in Bihar, Gandhiji arrived in Champaran in 1917.
  • The Videha dynasty is mentioned for the first time in the Yajurveda. Goddess Sita, the daughter of King Janak, belonged to this dynasty.
  • Mithijana Videha founded Mithila.
  • The kingdom of Magadha is mentioned for the first time in the Atharvaveda.
  • The capital of Magadha kingdom was Girivraj or Rajgir which was surrounded by hills on all sides by five hills. Later the capital was shifted to Patliputra.
  • The Haryanka dynasty established its capital at Rajgir.
  • During the time of Shishunaga, Magadha had two capitals, Rajgir and Vaishali.
  • The Khilafat movement started in Bihar in 1919.
  • The non-cooperation movement started in Bihar in 1920.
  • The Kisan Sabha was formed in Bihar in 1929.
  • Punyamitra Sunga Mauyev was the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces.
  • Bihar and Orissa were divided in 1936.
  • The Nawab of Bengal, Mir Qasim, made Munger his capital.
  • Battle of Chausa, 1539 BCE – Sher Shah defeats Humayun and acquires the title of Sultan-i-Adil.
  • The last Afghan Sultan of Bihar was Dawood Khan Karrani.
  • The Mughal Emperor Shah Alam II granted the East India Company the right of Bengali Bihari and Orissa Diwani.
  • Battle of Buxar - took place on 22 October 1764.
  • The Bihar Socialist Party was founded by Jai Prakash Narayan in 1934.
  • The Golghar was built in the year 1786 by Captain John Gourstein.
  • The Second Buddhist Council was organized during the reign of Kalashoka.
  • On July 3, 1857, a rebellion broke out in Patna under the bookseller 'Pir Ali'.
  • Patna Revenue Council was established in the year 1770 which was later replaced by Bihar Revenue Chief in the year 1781.
  • In the book Indica of Megasthenes, information about the city administration and military administration of the capital Pataliputra is found.
  • Ottoman power in Bihar was established in 1198.
  • The early capital of Magadha was Rajgir.
  • The famous Vishnupad temple is located in Bodh Gaya.
  • Lord Buddha attained enlightenment in Bodh Gaya.
  • Patna Yuvak Sangh was founded in 1927.
  • Establishment of Bihar Youth Association in Motihari in the year 1928 – Gyan Shah
  • Mazharul Haque was the founder of Home Rule Movement in Bihar.
  • Taxila was the most famous education center during the Mauryan period.
  • Gandhiji conducted his first Satyagraha in Champaran in Bihar.
  • The Bihar Socialist Party was founded in the year 1931 by Ganga Sharan Sinha, Ram Vriksha Benipuri and Ramanand Mishra.
  • Kunwar Singh was the leader of Bihar in the revolt of 1857.
  • Ashoka was the patron of the Third Buddhist Council held at Pataliputra.
  • The fourth Buddhist council was held during the time of Kanishka.
  • The second Buddhist council was organized by Kalashoka.
  • Bihar was established on 22 March 1912.
Thank You