Assam History: Chronology of Events in Assam's Ancient, Medieval, and Modern History

Assam History: Chronology of Events in Assam's Ancient, Medieval, and Modern History
Posted on 11-07-2023

Chronology of Events in Assam's Ancient, Medieval, and Modern History

Ancient Period:

350 CE: Pushya Varman established the Varman dynasty in Kamarupa.

594 CE: Kumar Bhaskar Varman becomes the king of Kamrupa.

636 CE: Chinese Buddhist scholar/traveler Xuanzang visits the court of Bhaskar Varman in Kamarupa.

650 CE: Kumar Bhaskar Varman passes away, marking the end of the Varman Dynasty.

655 CE: Salasthamba establishes the Mlechchha dynasty in Kamarupa.

900 CE: Brahmapala establishes the Pala dynasty in Kamarupa.

1100 CE: The Pala Dynasty ends with the removal of the last Pala king, Jayapala, by Ramapala.

1185 CE: Prithu establishes the Khen dynasty and the Kamata kingdom.

1187 CE: Birpal establishes the Chutiya kingdom at Swarnagiri.

1185 CE: Prithu establishes the Khen dynasty and the Kamata kingdom.

1187 CE: Birpal establishes the Chutiya kingdom in Sadiya.


Medieval Period:

1206 CE: First Muslim attack on Assam by Muhammad Bin Bukhtiyar Khalji, who aimed to conquer China through Assam but was unsuccessful.

1207 CE: Bukhtiyar Khalji's second attempt to invade Assam reaches Nawgaon district.

1224 CE: Ratnadhwajpal, the second Chutiya king, annexes the kingdoms of Bhadrasena and Nyayapal.

1228 CE: First Ahom king, Sukapha, enters Assam.

1248 CE: Ratnadhwajpal establishes his capital in Sadiya.

1250 CE: Sandhya, a ruler of Kamarupa, moves his capital west and establishes the Kamata kingdom.

1252 CE: Sukapha establishes the first Ahom capital in Charaideo.

1449 CE: Srimanta Sankardev is born.

1490 CE: First Ahom-Kachari battle, ending with the defeat of the Ahoms under Konkhra and pursuit for peace.

1498 CE: Alauddin Hussain Shah of Gaur removes the last Khen ruler of the Kamata kingdom.

1515 CE: Viswa Singha establishes Koch political power and the Koch dynasty.

1520 CE: Ahoms defeated by Chutiya king Dharmadhwajpal.

1524 CE: Chutiya kingdom partially annexed to the Ahom Kingdom under Suhungmung and placed under the rule of Sadiyakhowa Gohain.

1527 CE: Nusrat Shah's invasion marks the first Muslim invasion of the Ahom kingdom, ending in failure.

1532 CE: Turbak attacks the Ahom Kingdom, becoming the first commander to achieve some success.

1533 CE: Turbak is defeated and killed, and the Ahoms pursue the Gaur army to the Karatoya River.

1536 CE: Ahoms destroy Dimapur, the capital of the Kachari kingdom.

1539 CE: Ahom king establishes the capital in Gargaon.

1540 CE: Nara Narayan succeeds his father to the throne of the Kamata kingdom.

1548 CE: Assam witnesses a devastating earthquake.

1563 CE: Chilarai occupies the Ahom capital Garhgaon, ending with the Treaty of Majuli between the Koch and Ahom kingdoms.

1568 CE: Srimanta Sankardev dies.

1581 CE: Nara Narayana divides the Kamata kingdom into Koch Bihar and Koch Hajo, governed by Raghudev.

1587 CE: Raghudev, son of Chilarai and ruler of Koch Hajo, declares independence.

1609 CE: Momai Tamuli Borbarua restructures the Paik system in the Ahom kingdom.

1613 CE: Koch Hajo is annexed by the Mughal Empire.

1615 CE: Ahom-Mughal conflicts begin.

1637 CE: Bali Narayan dies of natural causes, and the Koch rebellion against the Mughals collapses.

1639 CE: The Treaty of Asurar Ali is signed between the Ahom kingdom and the Mughal Empire.

1659 CE: Ahoms take possession of Koch Hajo up to the Sankosh River, previously occupied by the rulers of Koch Bihar.

1662 CE: Mir Jumla attacks the Ahom kingdom and occupies Garhgaon, the Ahom capital.

1663 CE: After the Treaty of Ghilajharighat, Mir Jumla returns to Dhaka but dies on the way.

1667 CE: Ahoms wrest Guwahati and extend control up to the Manas River, beginning defense preparations.

1668 CE: Mughals under Ram Singh I advance up to Guwahati to retake it.

1671 CE: The Battle of Saraighat between the Ahom kingdom and the Mughals takes place, with the Ahoms under Lachit Borphukan emerging victorious.

1679 CE: Laluk-sola Borphukan deserts Guwahati.

1681 CE: Gadadhar Singha becomes the Ahom king.

1682 CE: Ahoms win the battle at Itakhuli, marking the end of Ahom-Mughal conflicts with an Ahom victory.

1714 CE: Rudra Singha dies, and the grand alliance of Kachari, Jaintia, etc., is formed to remove the Mughals from Bengal.

1769 CE: The first phase of the Moamoria rebellion takes place, with the Ahom capital falling but being recaptured in April 1770.

1783 CE: The Ahom capital, Rangpur, falls for the second time to the Moamoria rebellion.

1786 CE: The third Moamoria rebellion occurs.

1794 CE: Captain Thomas Welsh restores Rangpur to the Ahom king from the Moamora rebels, and the Ahom capital shifts to Jorhat.

1805 CE: Ahoms come to terms with Sarbananda, the last Moamora rebel leader holding out in Bengmara (Tinsukia). Ahoms declare Sarbananda the Barsenapati of Matak Rajya.

1817 CE: The first Burmese invasion of Assam occurs, and the Burmese occupation is complete by 1821.

1819 CE: The second Burmese invasion takes place.

1821 CE: The third Burmese invasion occurs.

1823 CE: Tea leaves are discovered in Assam.

1825 CE: Crude oil is discovered in Assam.


Modern Period:

1826 CE: The Treaty of Yandaboo is signed between the East India Company and the King of Burma, marking the end of Burmese and the beginning of British occupation of Assam.

1830 CE: The first freedom fighter of Assam, Piyoli Phukan, is hanged.

1837 CE: Controversy arises as Bengali is made the official language of Assam by the British.

1843 CE: Sivasagar sees the first high school in Assam.

1846 CE: The first Assamese magazine, Orunodoi, is published.

1853 CE: A giant asteroid strikes the Brahmaputra River.

1858 CE: Famous freedom fighter Maniram Dewan is hanged.

1861 CE: The Phulaguri Dhawa, the first peasant uprising against British rule, is repressed.

1865 CE: Assam gets telegraph and telephone connections.

1873 CE: Assamese becomes the official language again.

1874 CE: Assam is separated from Bengal and becomes an independent state.

1889 CE: The first publication of the Assamese magazine 'Junaki' takes place.

1894 CE: The Patharughat raijmel is fired upon, and villagers are tortured, leading to property confiscation.

1897 CE: Assam witnesses a devastating earthquake, causing the loss of many lives.

1900 CE: The Tea Research Center is established in Tukulai, Jorhat.

1901 CE: Cotton is established in Gauhati, and Asia's first oil refinery is established in Digboi.

1917 CE: The first meeting of the Assam Sahitya Sabha is held.

1921 CE: Mahatma Gandhi visits Assam.

1926 CE: The National Congress conference is held in Pandu.

1942 CE: Kanaklata and Mukunda Kakoti are gunned down by the British Police.

1947 CE: India gains independence, and Assam becomes a state.

1947 CE: The first medical college is established in Dibrugarh.

1961 CE: Assamese becomes the state's official language.

1962 CE: China attacks India, and Assam becomes one of the first victims.

1963 CE: Nagaland separates from Assam.

1972 CE: Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram, and Arunachal Pradesh also separate from Assam.

1974 CE: The capital of Assam is shifted from Shillong to Dispur.

Thank You