Forest in Bihar - GovtVacancy.Net

Forest in Bihar - GovtVacancy.Net
Posted on 13-08-2022

Forest in Bihar

Most of the area of ​​Bihar state is plain. The natural vegetation is not eco-friendly due to high population density and pressure on agricultural land. Most of the rainfall in Bihar is due to the monsoon climate, so the amount of rainfall is a major factor in determining the vegetation here. Out of the total area of ​​Bihar 94,163 square kilometers, 6845 square kilometers are forested, which is 7.21% of the total area of ​​Bihar. On the basis of the amount of rainfall in Bihar, the natural vegetation can be mainly divided into two parts:

  • Wet deciduous forest
  • Dry deciduous forest

Wet deciduous forest

Wet deciduous forests are found in areas where annual rainfall is more than 120 cm. They are mainly divided into two categories –

  • Someshwara and Doon range forests
  • lowland forest

Someshwara and Doon range forests 

These forests are mainly found in West Champaran. The amount of rainfall in this region is more than 160 cm. The main trees of the Ardai deciduous forests found on the highlands and hill slopes are Shaal (Sharea Robusta), Shisham, Khair, Semal, Toon, etc. Due to the high altitude, savanna-type vegetation is also found in these areas.

lowland forest 

This forest Terai region is found in the north-western and north-eastern parts of Bihar. This forest is spread in the form of a narrow belt in the districts of Purnia, Saharsa, Araria, Kishanganj, etc. of Bihar. The main vegetation of the forests of the Terai region are reeds, shrubs, bamboo, grass, elephant grass, Sawai, etc. This type of vegetation is mainly found in low-marshy lands.

Dry deciduous forest

Dry deciduous forests are found in forest areas where annual rainfall is less than 120 cm. In these forests mainly shrubs, grasses, and small plants are found. Dry deciduous forests have developed in the eastern central part of Bihar and the western part of the southern plateau. The main trees of dry deciduous forests are Shisham, Mahua, Khair, Palash, Asan, Amla, Amaltas, Ebony, etc.

The protection of forests in Bihar, they are divided into 3 classes –

  • Reserve Forest,
  • Protected Forest,
  • Unclassified Forest

Under the Reserve Forest, animals are not allowed to graze and cut and collect wood, and they are kept under government protection.

Under the Protected Forest,  permission is given by the government to graze animals and collect and cut wood in limited quantities.

 There is no restriction imposed by the government for grazing animals and cutting wood in the Unclassified Forest, but a fee is charged for it.

Thank You